Chinese calendar

Chinese astrology is based on a 12 years cycle, represented by twelve animals. In order appear the Rat, the Ox, the Tiger, the Rabbit, the Dragon, the Snake, the Horse, the Goat, the Monkey, the Rooster, the Dog and the Pig. Each animal is a symbol of characteristic personality traits of persons born during this sign.

Creating the Chinese calendar collection is always an exercise in mysticism. We have to pay tribute to the lunar calendar while at the same time bringing a French touch to it, creating this mixture of cultures. Added to this are the character traits linked to the signs, which we try to translate into a kind of anthropomorphism represented by the attitude we express through each animal! 

Engraver word

One of the oldest in the world, the chinese calendar is a sun-and-moon calendar. Months are set according to the moon, i.e. the first day of each month, is the new moon and the 15th day is the full moon.

Because the solar year counts 12 lunar month plus a dozen of days, seven intercalary months are added over each 19 years, in order for the calendar year to stay within a solar year.

Emblematic coins

After the Ox in 2021, 2022 marks the Year of the Tiger which will start from February 1st 2022 until January 21th 2023.